Return to Headlines

Eight Commended Scholars Recognized at AHS

commended studentsOctober 24, 2022

Eight Argyle High School seniors have been named Commended Scholars by the National Merit Scholarship Program!

Argyle High School's Commended Scholars include: (pictured front row, L to R) McKenna Smith, Mira Pomal, (back row, L to R), Jacob Stroupe, Srimaan Kolanakuduru, Sriman Kandula, Zachary Cox and Owen Norkett. Not pictured: Evan Harbach.

More than two-thirds (about 34,000) of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Commended Students are named based on a nationally applied Selection Index score that may vary from year to year and is typically below the level required for participants to be named Semifinalists in their respective states.