Helpful Links

  • REPORT AN ABSENCE
  • EARLY DISMISSAL REQUEST
  • REQUEST VOE

Attendance

  • SCHOOL ABSENCES

    Reporting Absences:
    If a student is absent, it is the responsibility of the parent to do one of the options listed below: 
    1. Click on the “Report an Absence/Early Dismissal” red box on the high school webpage to go to the Attendance Menu that includes a form to “report a student absence”.  Complete all the fields on the Google form to inform the attendance office why your student is not at school.

    2. Click on the following e-mail link and report the absence. Include a note with the student’s name, date of absence, reason for absence, estimated date of return, your name, and a phone number where you can be reached. candace.jefferies@argyleisd.com

    3. Call the high school attendance office at 940-262-7777 and select 2 on the menu to “report an absence.” In a voice message, provide the student’s name, date of absence, reason for absence, estimated date of return, your name, and a phone number where you can be reached.


    Documentation Required for Absences:
    When a student must be absent from school, the student must bring a note signed by the parent that describes the reason for the absence. This note must be delivered to Ms. Candace Jefferies in the Attendance Office within 3 days of the student’s return to school. Any student absence of more than 4 consecutive days because of a personal illness must be accompanied by a statement from a doctor or health clinic verifying the illness or condition that caused the student’s extended absence from school. 

    When a student is absent from class for a medical or legal appointment, the absences will be excused when the school is provided with documentation from the medical or legal provider. Once again, the student has 3 days from his or her return to school to provide proper documentation, or the absence will be considered unexcused. Unexcused absences will result in a maximum grade of 70.

    A student whose absence is excused for an appointment with a healthcare professional shall not be penalized for the absence if the student commences classes or returns to school on the same day of the appointment and brings a note from the healthcare professional verifying the appointment. 

    A  consultation over the phone or via video (telemedicine) is considered an appointment with a healthcare professional. An appointment with a school nurse is not considered a meeting with a healthcare professional for school funding purposes. (per Texas Education Agency Student Attendance Policy)

    If a student is absent for the entire school day due to a doctor's appointment, the absence will be excused with documentation from the appointment. This full-day absence is excused but will count as an absence toward final exam exemption.

    Collecting Missed Work for a Student:
    Once a student has missed 2 consecutive days of school, a parent may request missed work that can be completed at home. We suggest that parents or the student contact the student’s teachers via e-mail and ask for any missed work. If needed, teachers will leave the assignments in the high school office for parents to pick up after 3:00 p.m. on the day requested. 

    Compulsory Attendance:
    All students enrolled in public schools in Texas are required by state law to be in attendance at least 90% of the total school days in each semester to receive credit for the classes in which they are enrolled. Failure to attend at least 90% of the school days may result in loss of credit and cause a student to have to repeat some or all of the courses for that semester/year. 

    Excused Absences:
    State law and school guidelines governing attendance require that excused absences pertain to illnesses, medical or legal appointments, funerals of immediate family members, college days and school-sponsored trips. 

    Pre-planned Absences:
    Students wishing to miss school for any reason not listed above during the “Excused Absences” section must fill out the AISD Pre-approval Permission Form - CLICK HERE. Please submit this form to the school principal or assistant principal 3 school days prior to the planned absence in order to allow time for review. The process of approving special absence requests will include the consideration of overall attendance in class, grades, and other extenuating circumstances. Absences will not be granted during state-mandated assessments. Each student will only be granted 5 pre-planned days per school year. State law requires all students to be in attendance 90% of the school year. A planned absence causing a student to be in attendance less than 90% of the school year would be caused to deny this request.
    Absences that are not defined as excused and not approved under the pre-planned absence process will be considered unexcused. Unexcused absences will result in a maximum grade of 70. AISD Board Policy states that students have (1) day for each day of absence to make up work. Make-up work will be given for an excused absence only. Teachers are not required to give students work in advance of absences.

    Religious Holy Days: 
    If a student is absent due to the observance of religious holy days, the student shall not be penalized for the absence. Excused days include days of travel to or from a site where the student will observe the holy days. Excused days for travel shall be limited to not more than one day for travel to and one day for travel from the site of the observance.
    To be considered a religious holy day, the day should be one generally recognized by the student’s religious denomination as a holy day that is required to be observed by all members of that denomination. Church retreats, camps, mission trips, individual religious rites (baptisms, christenings, bar mitzvahs, etc) are not considered holy days.

    Absence Related to the DPS/DMV:
    Starting in the 2021-2022 school year, state law and school guidelines allow a for a student who is 15 years of age or older to be excused from school for not more than one day for the following purposes:
    - Obtaining a driver’s license; or 
    - Obtaining a learner license/permit
     
    This absence will be excused only when documentation is provided to verify the DPS visit.  Students must provide Ms. Jefferies a copy of the paper license or permit within 3 days of the absence.

    College Visits:
    Juniors and Seniors are allowed two school days per year by the state for college visits. One of these days may be used as a travel day. Prior to a college visit students need to pick up a yellow College Day Form from the counselor’s office to have it signed by a counselor and principal. A copy of this form should be given to Ms. Jefferies before the visit and the yellow form needs to be signed by a college official on the visit. The student will also need to obtain a letter from the college on the day of their visit. This should be on the institution’s letterhead with the student’s full name and the date of the visit. It also needs to state that the student was on campus for an official visit. 
    The yellow form and the college letter must be turned in to Ms. Jefferies within 3 school days of the visit.  Once received and coded the absence will not count against the student’s absences.  Any additional college visit days should be submitted as pre-planned absences in order to be excused.

    Absence for Military Recruitment:
    Students who are 17 years of age or older and pursuing enlistment in a branch of the United States Armed Services or the National Guard are allowed 2 days per school year for “military recruit” absences.  The student needs to notify the school prior to the absence and, after the absence, must provide a letter from the recruiter that includes the student’s name, the military branch, the date of the visit, and a signature by the recruiting officer. This letter must be turned in to Ms. Jefferies within 3 school days of the visit. Once received and coded, the absence will be excused.


    EARLY DISMISSAL

    Checking Students out Class during the School Day:

    If a student needs to leave school for any reason, the student must be signed out. A student will not be allowed to leave campus without permission from a parent. 

    Parents can provide permission for a student to leave class and campus in one of the following ways:

    Complete the “Early Dismissal “ request on the high school webpage.
    Send a note with the student to give to Ms. Jefferies before in the Attendance Office and the student will be given an “Early Dismissal” slip to give to the classroom teacher to leave class.
    Send an email to Ms. Ruggles at amy.ruggles@argyleisd.com 
    Call the high school at 940-262-7777 and push “1” for “student check-out” on the menu

    At this time students will sign out in the main high school office with Ms. Fryer. Parent pick-up and sign-out are only at the front of the high school. If anyone other than the parent is coming to pick up a student, the parent must notify the school about who is coming. Anytime a parent comes into the school to pick up, please bring a valid ID.


    Students will not be checked out after 3:00 p.m. (during 7th period) without an “Early Dismissal” slip provided by the Attendance Office.


    Going home sick:
    If a student is ill, he or she must go to the nurse’s office to be assessed by the school nurse prior to being able to leave campus. If the student checks out “sick” without seeing the nurse, the absence will not be excused.