• Reporting Absences

    Please note the tardy bell rings at 7:30 a.m. If a student arrives after 7:30 a.m. but before 9:30 a.m. they are tardy. Attendance snapshot time is at 9:30 a.m., if a student arrives after 9:30 a.m. they are marked absent.


    If the absence is due to a medical appointment, please provide a medical note when your student returns.  Medical notes must be received within 3 days of the absence.  If your student misses during attendance time (9:30 AM) due to a doctor's appointment but attends school for part of the day, please send a doctor's note as we still receive funding for these types of absences.  We do not receive funding for all-day absence even with a doctor's note: however, they are considered excused.


    If a student is absent, it is the responsibility of the parent to notify the attendance office of the absence. We do no to get parents notes that is why we have created a link for you to easily report the absence. You will receive a receipt once you have submitted the absence form online. We then receive notification of your submittal on our end.  Please remember an absence due to a medical appointment must be accompanied by a doctor's note. Please make sure you have notified the teacher of your child's absence.




    Documentation - Excused/Unexcused Absences

    Any student absence exceeding 3 days because of a personal illness must be accompanied by a statement from a doctor or health clinic verifying the illness or condition that caused the student’s extended absence from school. Notes verifying student absences must be turned in to the main office within 3 days of returning to school or the absence will be unexcused. Please use our "Report an Absence" link to report your child's absence.


    Pre-planned Absences

    No classwork will be given prior to extended absences.

    In order to request permission to have make-up classwork when they return as a result of an absence caused by an obligation other than those listed above, a student must have an approved AISD Special / Preplanned Absence Request form which can be found at the bottom of this page.




    Please submit this form to the office a minimum of 3 days prior to the planned absence in order to allow time for review. The process of approving this special request absence will include the consideration of attendance in class, grades and other extenuating circumstances. Absences will not be granted during state-mandated assessments. Each student may only be granted 5 days per school year.


    A student must be in attendance 90% of the school year. A planned absence causing a student to be in attendance less than 90% of the school year would be caused to deny this request. Parents will only be notified in the case of denial of pre-planned absence.


    Compulsory Attendance

    All students enrolled in public schools in Texas are required by state law to be in attendance at least 90% of the total school days in each semester to receive credit for the classes in which they are enrolled. Failure to attend at least 90% of the school days may result in loss of credit and cause a student to have to repeat some or all of the courses for that semester/year.



    Argyle South students must be in their seats and ready to learn at 7:30 AM to not be counted as tardy. Excessive tardiness is considered missing part of a school day under Texas law. A student’s parent or guardian will be given written notice when a student has 5 tardies. If tardiness continues, parents will be given notice a second time by the principal. If tardiness continues, an attendance committee meeting will be scheduled to assist in solving the problem.


    Collecting Missed Work for a Student

    We suggest that parents contact the student’s teachers via e-mail and ask for any missed work.


    Leaving school early for a medical appointment

    If you need to check out your child for a medical appointment, it is helpful to email your child's teacher in advance so that they can be ready before transitioning to lunch, recess, or a specials class. You must provide your driver's license to the office when checking out your child.  Your child needs to turn in a medical appointment note (this can be obtained from the physician) when returning to school.